European ISC Members
Drillcores. Photo: Peeter Paaver

Management Group

The Management Group supports the European ISC Members with initiatives and actions as appropriate for the achievement of their objectives. This includes organising their Annual Meetings and implementing their decisions.

The Management Group is chaired by the organisation that hosts the Secretariat. During 2021-24, the Group is composed as follows:


Tarmo Soomere

Estonian Academy of Sciences


Geoffrey Boulton

Regius Professor of Geology and Vice Principal Emeritus at the University of Edinburgh. Distinguished for his work in glaciology. Member of the ISC Governing Board and lead on for its work on Open Science.

Anna Mauranen

Professor, Research Director. Department of Languages at the University of Helsinki.

Augusta Maria Paci

CNR Deputy Representative at International Science Council, CNR Technology Director Associate to ICCOM-CNR. Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Italy.

Juras Banys

Professor of Physics. President of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences.

Giselinde Kuipers

Research Professor at the Center for Sociological Research, KU Leuven University (Belgium). Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences KNAW.

Jürg Pfister

Secretary General at the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT)